Paleo Poached Pears

Paleo Poached Pears

Here’s the original recipe (with my modifications in parentheses):

  • 3 cups of fresh squeezed orange juice (I used Odwalla O.J.)
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 inch piece of ginger, peeled
  • 4 ripe but not mushy pears (I only had 3 pears)
  • 5 whole cloves (I didn’t have any)
  • 1 stick of cinnamon
  • parchment paper cut to fit the saucepan you’re using
  • zest of one orange (I didn’t have any)

Here’s how I made this dish:

The kids poured the juice, water, ginger, and cinnamon stick into a medium saucepan while I peeled and cored the pears.We dunked the pears in the poaching liquid topped the pot with a piece of parchment paper and brought the liquid to a simmer. The pears poached in the liquid for about 30 minutes or until soft but not mushy.

I removed the pears with a slotted spoon and brought the poaching liquid to a boil. Then, I turned down the heat so the liquid would simmer and reduce by half, or until it became syrupy.

I removed the cinnamon stick and ginger and poured the sauce over the pears. I stored the pears in the poaching liquid in the fridge and served them cold.

Leave a Reply

